blackdogsailor

Chill in the Air, Leaves on the Ground

In Gypsy camp, summer volunteer on 06/09/2017 at 16:15

Well folks it’s been a few days over 3 months since the summer campaign to invade Michigan began. I’m starting to get a little chilly in the tent the last few days. The high the last two days was 61 degrees an the lows have busted below forty degrees a couple of times. My camp site has been upgraded over the weeks from my last post.

It has become a true outpost. I built my rocket oven and this week the last test is to make a pizza. The oven is built from scraps and I’ve sustained 350 degrees twice. I’ll post pizza pics.

I have enjoyed the camp and the beauty of the undeveloped land – 700 acres.

Gotta love it!

I had to put a new radiator in the Exploder. Thank goodness for online video instruction. I’ll probably be on the road in the next ten days or so. See some friends, visit my sister and prepare to spend all the money I saved this summer on the boat.

This summer was one in which I never needed air conditioning.

Some days I would drive as much as 20 miles on the lawnmower.

I figured I made close to 500 pounds of potato salad.

I sliced more than 900 cucumbers.

I learned how to handle a front loader.

I learned that there is much hope for the young.

Great experience, three months in a Coleman tent, camping all the way.

I did occasionally yearn for the days in graduate school taking advanced statistics, so I made this little chart.

Camping ahh graduate school yea hold my campfire I got this.

Well I would have made this post shorter if I had the time.

Dr Brad standing by on 16 and noaa hurricane tracker.

  1. Dr. Brad, Will you be at Hontoon this year? The Ranger stated that they were looking forward to your return and seeing the mess from the hurrican I can understand why. My wife and I hope to see you. You may not remember us but we met at Wheeler state park at the looper meeting, went to dinner with you and your trawler friend, went to lunch with you at Dog river seems like talked to you some place else but can’t remember where. Enjoy your blog and look forward to reading more and hope to see you. We will be staying at Hontoon across from park for the month of Feb. ’18.      Ron Cowan

    From: Black Dog Sailor To: viper05@bellsouth.net Sent: Wednesday, September 6, 2017 3:15 PM Subject: [New post] Chill in the Air, Leaves on the Ground #yiv8967183387 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8967183387 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8967183387 a.yiv8967183387primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8967183387 a.yiv8967183387primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8967183387 a.yiv8967183387primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8967183387 a.yiv8967183387primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8967183387 WordPress.com | blackdogsailor posted: “Well folks it’s been a few days over 3 months since the summer campaign to invade Michigan began. I’m starting to get a little chilly in the tent the last few days. The high the last two days was 61 degrees an the lows have busted below forty degrees a co” | |

    Like

Leave a comment