blackdogsailor

Three Years Ago Today

In long haul, Uncategorized on 07/11/2013 at 08:08

I launched my Macgregor on this day in 2010. I have traveled a little 0ver 4000 miles on the Ohio, Cumberland, Tennessee, Little Tennessee, and the Tom-Bigbee waterway. Some of these repeatedly. I encourage you to check the archives.

first four days 032

first four days 022

Day one and 35 pounds heavier

This morning I am in Florence Harbor. I left Joe Wheeler embayment yesterday at sunrise and Headed south. My goal was 47 miles. I got hung up at Wheeler and had to wait with a good 20 mph wind out of the southeast. after 60 minutes of taking a beating standing post on through we went. I got hung up at Wilson for 2 hours again taking a beating, thus Florence harbor

Not many photos of the last couple of days because of the wind all day. Hard to roll with the rollers and take pictures. My left hand was on the grab rail most of the time.

I got this great picture of clouds coming over me from my stern. Imagine standing under a piece of glass and having paint poured over the top.

P1010858

Starboard

P1010859

port-pretty Groovy huh.

P1010874

The biggest drop in America. The Wilson Lock.

Well I am outta here for now. I have until Sunday to go about 50 miles. I already used one marina day and I will anchor out until then.  I also blew some money on some fried mushrooms.

Happy birthday Barb.

Dr Brad standing by on 16

  1. Hey Doc:
    I remember when you took off from Marietta, Ohio. I cant believe its been 3 yrs already. I bet you got some interesting stories to share from the last 3 yrs. I am still working and plugging away. As far as winter approaching, good to see you are in the south to keep a bit warmer.

    Stay Healthy and Safe,
    Vern

    Like

  2. Hey Doc:
    I remember when you took off from Marietta, Ohio. I cant believe its been 3 yrs. I bet you got some interesting stories to share. I am still working and plugging away everyday. As far as winter approaching, good to see you are in the south to keep a bit warmer.

    Stay Healthy and Safe,
    Vern

    Like

Leave a Reply

